Palazzo del Poggiano was a noble hunting lodge and country residence, located in an area quite separate from nearby Poggio Berni. It was strategic to the expansionist aims of the Malatesta seignory of Rimini, which by the early 14th century had already firmly extended its power over the entire area.
However, the existence of a mill in Pozano is documented as early as the mid-13th century, even before the settlement became part of the Malatesta fiefdom.
In the first three decades of the 15th century, the fortified palace of Poggiano and adjoining lands belonged to Elisabetta Malatesti Polenta. Many economic resources for the local community were concentrated here; in fact, the entire complex was much coveted by the local dynasties that succeeded one another in owning it over the centuries. On her death in 1434, Elisabetta bequeathed the property to Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta.
After the Malatesta, other families that owned it included the Bentivoglio, Montefeltro, Nardini, Della Rovere, Doria, Gonzaga and Medici families, until recent centuries with the Tosi (19th century), an important local family whose name identified the property for many years.
The Second World War was followed by years of decline and neglect until recent refurbishment work (2000 - 2008) carried out by the current owners, in collaboration with the Authority for Environmental and Architectural Heritage.
Today, from being a Malatesta hunting lodge and holiday home, the building once again looks like an ancient noble residence, with a large park and the typical features of a mediaeval “palatium”.
Visitors can still admire the old oil mill adjacent to the palace's renovated kitchens, evidence of a centuries-old oil-making tradition.
Significant modifications and extensions have been carried out over the centuries; for example, the small frescoed church that flanks the complex (19th century) and the charming 17th-century staircase leading to the courtyard onto which the entrances to the palace’s main floor or “piano nobile” open.
The furnishings and decorations that characterise the latter, date back to the time when it was owned